World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Got a bit of a daft question for you guys.....I have been fishing for 30+ years, mainly boat fishing, ( its only in the last 2 years that I have found out what end of a beachcaster it is that you hold )

What I was wondering is, have any of you ever used or try'd limpet for a bait ? I have never try'd it myself as where I live I can get any kind of live bait, rag/lug etc etc

Please let me know if any o you guys have had any success on it as I was thinkin of giving it a try, but dont want to prize the poor wee beasties from the rocks if thr no good.

cheers

·
Registered
550 Posts
I used them in the Bristol channel to tip rag worm or lug worm when I was younger, caught some reasonable coddling up to 3lb.

Tight lines

Mike

·
Registered
4,864 Posts
As a lad simply because I had not learnt how to find 'proper' bait. Very longlasting on the hook and beloved of crabs so they must be tough! Good, in my humble opinion, only to help keep softer baits on the hook. Also, from what I've read, some of these impressive creatures are very old having grazed the same rocks for tens of years (They eat green algae as I understand it and have a regular 'patrol area' I tend to leave them where they are, bless 'em! easy to remove as long as you're quick and give them a sideways smack with a hammer stone.

Slipper limpets, found on some rocky, shingly marks are supposed to be the actual dog's whatsits! They are often washed off during rough weather and thus are part of the regular ecology of an area and thus the Bass are used to foraging for them. From what I've seen down on the South Coast in particular many consider them to be excellent. Hopefully this will stimulate the much more knowledgeable to inform us!

·
Registered
1,744 Posts
slipper limpet are excellent bass bait.

collect from the beach after a storm and use fresh or freeze them down.