World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I asked a similar question in the Casting forum but it hasn't had much traction #24

I will start out by saying I am a novice lure angler, with a flyfishing background (and trained as a Federation of FlyFishers casting instructor, although I have let my certification lapse)

For the past couple of weeks, and based on very little, I wasn't happy with the line lay on my reel. I have observed that on those few occasions where I have had to pull for a break, with the exception of once when the lure clip opened, the rest of my breaks have been in the braid. Obviously I have no idea how much braid I have lost, but I have presumed that the braid may have been weakened.

I haven't been suffering wind/casting knots. I have learned to close the bail arm manually, and to give the line a quick tug before starting the retrieve

After each fishing session I have washed the reel (as per manufacturer's guidance); washed the rod, including cleaning the rings using a pipe cleaner on the small rings 馃

Andy (Led) has very kindly sent me a 18g and a 7.5g casting plug. The other afternoon I went out on a cricket field, cast as far as I could, walked to straighten the line and walk my plus another 30 metres. I reeled in under as constant a tension as I could manage passing the line through through my fingers. I did this a few times. Now I am happier with the line lay

Q1 please: do you do any maintenance with braid?

Q2: any top tips how to reverse the braid on the reel to have a fresh start?

Because I have lost some braid, before I reverse the braid, I will add some backing to fill out the spool a little bit. I have read to use cheap monofilament of roughly the same diameter as my braid, and to knot it with a 2 turn Uni knot pulled really tight. I can do that

If you got this far, thank you for reading :)

Andrew

Premium Member
Hi there i鈥檓 sure the guys here will hopefully sort your problem out