World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello again all!

I've followed the advice of ChrisP that I noticed on an earlier posting, and bought 2 more plastic fuel tanks to go with the one that came with the boat. (Safety.......1 out, 1 in, 1 reserve!) My question is :- On my boat (Orkney Pilothouse 20) just forward of the transom well, there is a space to keep fuel tanks under a lift-up hinged lid. The tank (5.5gall.) supplied with the boat is not secured in any way, just lying loose in the compartment. Can any of you experienced bods tell me if this is safe, and if not, how could I secure the tanks? There is nothing there to fix anything to! If it was metal or wood I could obviously attach brackets or whatever to use straps or something, but I have no experience of Glass-fibre or it's strength or weaknesses. The same applies to the battery, which is sitting in a similar compartment. Should this be secured in some way, or don't these things move in practice?
(Getting very close to first launching now! and more and more nervous!!)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

VL1500

·
Registered
1,177 Posts
Hi
I have a pilothouse 20 as well - I think it was my post you must have read about the multiple fuel tanks. I have an identical setup and to date have no problem with the tanks loose, when they are full they dont move around too much and with 3 25l tanks and smaller tank for the auxilary they are fairly tight in the compartment.

For the battery I made a simple wooden "cradle" that follows the contours of the battery compartment and the battery fits snuggly into. This idea would work for the fuel tanks also. The beauty of it is that the tanks are easily lifted in and out of the compartment.

My main aim with the boat is not to make any lasting changes, if i get away with attaching something with silicone etc rather than drilling holes and screwing I will rather than hurt my baby!!