World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

As some of you know I am quite new to fishing the Scottish east coast....most of my experience is on the Yorkshire and Norfolk coasts. Some risks are the same here as in Yorkshire and Norfolk and some are unique to these places.

What I'd like to put out there is this.....is there anything we can do, as a group, to prevent deaths like those which occured last week from happening again?

Heres a couple of thoughts of mine:

1) Quite obvious...don't fish alone and if you do, tell someone where you are going and what time you'll be back, and inform them if you move or are going to be late.
2) If rock fishing carry the minimum of gear with you.....so that you can pack up and get out of there quickly if things turn nasty. If the weather gets up you don't want to be taking half an hour to get packed up.
3) Wear a floaty or a life jacket.............what are peoples thoughts? Is a life jacket better than a floaty or the other way around?
4) If it looks dodgy, don't risk it. I'm very much aware that what looks dodgy to me will look fine to someone with more experience, so fish within your abilities and comfort zone.
5) If you are unfamiliar with a mark fish it in daylight before you try a night session.
6) Know the tides so you don't get cut off
7) Check the weather forecast for worsening weather...it might be fine when you start a session but forecast to get bad later on
8) Carry a mobile phone and check you can get a signal if you need it

If anyone would like to add other measures we could take to reduce the risk of this happening again that would be great. The above are just some things which came to mind....

Cheers, and like everyone on here my thoughts are with the families and friends of those killed last week. R.I.P. lads!

Jonnie

G

·