World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys. I'm pretty new to all this fishing, and choose to take up LRF. Not had much luck with the lures yet, but I'm not giving up.

What success do you guys have in UK waters when fishing LRF in winter months? Should I stick to bottom fishing with bait at this time of year or will I still stand a chance of catching on lure?

Thanks for any info

·
Registered
621 Posts
I don’t know about sea but fresh water like canals and so on.. you can catch Perch and pike (try close to walls or under tree branches..). Light tackle, small silicons with 1-3 grams jigheads (this is all depend on depth and current). You can also use weedless style if it is snaggy, weedy or debris. Most important is slow retrieve and to find the right presentation. Sometimes dropshot will be better prevention, spinning can be too “fast” for the winter cold weather. Sometimes they prefer the lure (silicon) at the same place barely moves, just few tiny rattles from time to time.

Good luck.

·
Registered
2,923 Posts
Just before Christmas I was getting whiting, pouting, poor cod and gobies galore drop shotting. Aquawave ami in white was most productive in term of variety, isomes tended to attract gobies a bit too much. Aquawaves jaconail didn't perform well in terms of numbers or variety but did pick out the bigger fish. IMG-20181117-WA0004.jpeg IMG-20181117-WA0002.jpeg IMG_20190103_170016.jpg

·
The Ultra light Always doing it in style
4,945 Posts