World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
249 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello there.

Moving to Multiplier use from Fixed Spools, and was wondering what you guys thought and used for night time rod tip illumination.

i've previously used tip lights, but they're bulky and would need strapping to the underside of the rod with multiplier use.

I've never used Luminous paint before or Isotopes.

What is the general method used?

I don't own a parrafin lamp, just an electric lamp and head torch for baiting up, etc.

·
Registered
1,861 Posts
I just use reflective tape, Crazyplums sells some good stuff. I find the moonlight is enough to make it shine or if you use a led headlamp then even better.

·
Registered
1,420 Posts
cannot beat the stuff:clap3:
i'll second that!!! brilliant service too. look in the classifieds on here or input crazyplums on ebay... its also good for putting on your mooring bouy... we can spot ours from way off!!!!:)

·
Registered
424 Posts
The 'Mighty Bright' tape from Hugh can be obtained from Drag-on Signs -
01323 440830.

Review in TSF coming up ....

great when illuminated from the side; good idea to put your rod rest slightly parallel to the sea, so that you can still see bites, but give some illumination from side on.

It's not difficult to fix a 6v lamp onto a tripod and run it from a 6v 4Ahr sealed lead acid batter.
Lamp £1 from the pound shop and battery (rechargeable from a car battery charger 6v setting!) £3.90.

http://www.component-shop.co.uk/html/lead-acid.html

The finished jobby looks like this .....

http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o178/HAYLINGANGLER/tripodlamp-1.jpg

Ada
:)
Great idea!

John

·
Freeloader
6,660 Posts
i use tape i got ffrom crazyplums starts out red with a blue finish i also have a light which realy makes the tape shine

telling ya dont buy from ebay stuff go crazy plums m8

he does diff colours

·
Registered
5,809 Posts