World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a complete beginner I went out in the haven this week to catch enough mackerel for us to have for our tea. We caught one small mackerel on a hand line with little neon type fishy lures. Then we caught NO MORE! What are the best places to go to get them and does the state of the tide matter etc. Should we being going out beyond the heads? Any advice from the experienced amongst you would be most welcome. Thanks

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
As a new member of the forum I wonder if I have done the wrong thing in asking where to fish. Looking at other posts I notice now that people asking such a question rarely get a reply. What is the situation here - the etiquette. Thanks

·
Registered
2,018 Posts
Hi bud,,sorry you have not had any replies yet.
Absolutely no problem in asking where to fish.The lads and lasses will be only too happy to give advice,,thats what we are here for.
It might just be that no-one from your area is on at the moment.
Keep posting and all the best,
Terry F.

·
Registered
2,018 Posts
Forgot to say,,there is no real etiquette, ask all the questions you want and people will do their very best to answer.
Welcome to WSF bud :)

·
Registered
196 Posts
Welcome to the forum AM

In answer to your question on location. You will get Makerel in the haven, but it's hit and miss inside the heads this time of year. Try the mid channel rocks A.K.A the pole. If the weather permits then try st annes reef.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thank you all for your replies. Just a few more questions then...

What is the best time of year inside the heads for Mackerel?

Does state of tide matter?

Should I go beyond the heads and if so is there a preferred spot?

What 'rig?' should I have on my handline. White feathers? lurid neon plastic fish or what?

Can I catch anything else good to eat on a handline or will I need some proper kit?

·