World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts
F

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wondering if anyone has any simple mackerel recipies they would like to tell me.
I have some freshly caught mackerel and want a simple recipie for me and the wife to enjoy them with.
Have already thought about the poached in garlic butter recipie so any others would be greatfully recieved. :D

·
Registered
423 Posts
hi
although i am only 16 i am a good cook!!!
when i cook mackerel i like to gut them and then wash the insideso there is nothing in it, then i put it on the BBQ with a bit of lemon cut up and i bit of lime cut up. when it is cooked i then make a bit of salad (lettise, green pepper, yellow pepper, tomatoes, and a bit of cucumber) to go with it!!!
take the lemon and lime bits out and then drizzel a bit of olive oil over it )if you like it)
it is delicious!!!
beefcake

·
Registered
754 Posts
catch it , fillet it , fry it , stick it on a butty

nowt better

same applies to most fish
except bass - slight difference
catch it , swop it for a mackeral then see above
(bass was the most dissapointing fish i've ever eaten)

·
Registered
1,349 Posts
Hi Flounder
The simplest and by far the nicest way for mackeral in my opinion is barbecued.
Once gutted throw the whole fish on the bbq. Don't worry about filleting the meat just falls away from the bone.
The main advantage of bbq-ing is the fact that you won't stink the house out. Cooking mackeral indoors can leave a long lingering unpleasant smell.
This is not a very cordon bleu kind of recipe but very nice nevertheless.

Happy Eating
Arct...

F

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Beefcake. Has to be done on house cooker and not BBQ. I live in Scotland remember. Not really BBQ country/weather up here normally lol ;)

·
Registered
1,349 Posts
Steamed Bass on lemon grass. The best. ;)

·
Registered
6,973 Posts