World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
<font color='#000000'>Hi all.

As im a newbie to sea fishing i keep loosing quite a few leads and it might seem to get exspensive, is it worth bying a lead mould kit and making your own??

If it is which one, which companys (multi or single) breakaway and Bomb type.

If it is worth it wheres the bext places to find old lead??

Cheers and Tight-Lines all.

Tim</font>

·
Registered
568 Posts
<font color='#810541'>This was a topic I pondered long and hard about for a while. I love fishing from rocks, and losing tackle is part of the teritory so I was keen to make it as painless as possible. &nbsp;I also like to be as self sufficient in my angling as possible - it is one of things I enjoy most about it, IMHA, no it isn&#39;t worth making your own gripleads - for sure others will disagree. &nbsp;

My reasons:

Time: It takes quite a long time to make a few breakout type leads - so much that dare I suggest you would probably be better doing an hours overtime and buying weights with the proceeds...

Quality: Home made leads never quite match the &#39;real&#39; ones - &nbsp;its a right pain trying to get the grip wires just right. &nbsp;

Safety: ANY moisture at all in the mould will result in the heated lead exploding, not a pleasant prospect. &nbsp;Why take a risk for the sake of saving a couple of quid.

Cost: I didn&#39;t think that I would save that much money by making my own when taking everything into consideration: time, moulds, mould grips, safety goggles + gloves, cast iron pan, grip wires, loops etc etc - also I didn&#39;t have a ready supply of free lead...