World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi id like to have a go at catching mullet from my kayak .do you float fish for them or have the bait just off the bottom on a paternosta also any suitable launching sites id be gratefull for any info :thumbs:

·
Registered
8,340 Posts
Hi id like to have a go at catching mullet from my kayak .do you float fish for them or have the bait just off the bottom on a paternosta also any suitable launching sites id be gratefull for any info :thumbs:
Hi mate im no expert on mullet fishing,,,,,,,,,,,,,would the yak not spook em? shadows,,,,,,,,, niose,,,,,,,,,,,,very finicky fish

G

·
personally i dont think they are a fish that get caught from a boat. they stick to the shore i think. your betterof at a harbour, river or sheltered part of the coast. hope this info is accurate,

will93

·
Registered
272 Posts
you can launch from gillingham marina for free then head up towards sun pier and rochester bridge..i was doing some work at chatham maritime last week and you could see them schooling up around the pontoon legs when the ebb started and then running along the walls of the dockyard.

·
Registered
6,835 Posts
Hi lozz, Welcome to the site. From the thread title I had visions of someone sitting on a great big furry cow trying to catch mullet, quite freaked me out :fishing:

·
Registered
1,997 Posts
For some general information on mullet fishing see:

http://www.anglersnet.co.uk/Sea-Fishing-Articles/mullet_faq_one.html

From Gillingham pier, up-river to past Rochester, there's what look like ideal places to try for mullet (around pilings for piers etc), that could only ever be tackled by boat, and where bread-bags could be left out without fear of interference from feral kids. I envy you your yak!