World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts
B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
<font color='#000000'>I am new to boat fishing just recently bought an uptide rod and reel have all of the kit that I use for beach fishing tried in side the heads of Milford haven but only caught Dog fish, polock, mackerel and gurnard. is there any way of finding out about some marks inside the haven that are good to fish from? Or do you know of any? I have the chart but what do I look for on there to find a fish holding areas. Have any of you fished on Turbot bank what do you usually catch on there?</font>

·
Registered
2,953 Posts
<font color='#0000FF'>The turbot bank is pretty explanatory, you catch turbot there as well as rays, the odd flatfish and loads of dog fish providing that no one has trawled it recently.

Try by Thorn island for ray (on the side closest to the lifeboat station).

The Gulf jetty is good for codling and whiting during the summer, fish in the deep channel just in front of it and by the side.

Inside the old esso jetty is also good for ray.

You could try St Annes reef for pollack, the odd cod, conger and mackerel. you can either anchor over it and bait fish or drift across to it from the pole that marks the shipping channel. Try red gills and hokkai&#39;s.

You can fish for bass across from the old power station the best place is near the marker boy that looks like a sled or try fishing around the cleddau bridge area.</font>

·
Registered
2,953 Posts
<font color='#0000FF'>Oh yeah on the turbot bank look for the area of higher ground on the chart for some reason this is where the fish seem to be. If you know that the bank has been trawled recently dont even waste your time going there.

Fishing just off freshwater west also produces some good ray.</font>

B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
<font color='#000000'>Do you ever catch bass on turbot bank? My mate had a few on a bank around that area he used live sandeels</font>

·
Registered
2,953 Posts