World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

Looking to launch my Predator 165 boat for the first time out of Morston next Monday. I have a 2wd BMW 3 series so need to be a bit careful but it looks doable. Anyone got any tips for launching and getting out of Morston please? Is the retrieval ok with the tide in the channel? I have walked the channel at low tide and have got an idea of the what will be underneath me. Looks an interesting journey out into Blakeney Pit.

I am not looking for people to reveal their secret marks but any tips for fishing out on the nearby sea or launching would be great. This is my first time on my own boat so looking forward to the challenge but want to 'do it right'.

Thanks All.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Interesting! Launching was no problem and once we had managed to navigate through the boats moored in the pit to the channel it was fine. The problem was retrieval. A 4x4 is definitely needed as we got stuck and had to be winched out! Slightly embarrassing with the seal boats coming in with all the tourists. Chipped the gelcoat in all of the stress of it and left the winch handle! Gelcoat patched and new handle arriving today.

Morston is not for the faint hearted!

·
Registered
13 Posts
At least you did it & no lasting harm done. Have been & watched but far too much willy waving & posh shouting going on. We decided to keep ours in the water at Lowestoft. May get round to that coast at some point to drown some bait.
Stick at it. We are new to boat fishing too & still have a steep learning curve.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Interesting as we are on a waiting list for a berth at Lowestoft but intend to join Hunstanton ski club. They have 3 tractors for launching that can be self driven and marshalled launching between May and November. Will save the car getting stuck again!

·
Registered
13 Posts