World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I AM FAIRLY NEW TO THE GAME AND LOOKING TO PURCHASE A MULTIPLIER REEL FOR DISTANCE CASTING YET I HAVE NO IDEA ABOUT GEAR RATIO'S AND BRAKING SYSTEMS ETC, CAN ANYONE ADVISE ME ABOUT THEESE TOPICS i.e THE BEST AND WORST GEAR RATIO ETC :(

·
Registered
1,257 Posts
Hi Colin,

The Abu Mag Elite for distance casting is the number 1.

If distance casting is the main priority then forget about gear ratios etc. The Mag Elite is the best on the market. Purchase it, ask the dealer to put in the brake blocks i.e. if you can't do it yourself, slide the magnetic brake on and away you go, not forgetting to load the real with a good quality line.

Cheers

Drew

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Drew, I was planning to purchase it from the internet-how hard is it to fit brake blocks?

M

·
0 Posts
brake blocks are an absolute doddle to fit but i am not sure if the mag elites have them in the box. it has been a while since i bought them, so check with the dealer and if they don't they are cheap to buy anyway.
These are definitely top notch casting reels and the magnets will help you learn to cast a multiplier no end.
cheers Karl

·
Registered
1,190 Posts
Are you sure you need a multiplier? They don't give any more distance, are slower on the retrieve and fixed spools are a lot less hassle. I've come to realise over the years that 90% of the marks I've fished could be handled using a fixed spool reel. Only the really heavy rough stuff needs a multiplier. In fact I plan on switching over to fixed spools for all my clean/mixed ground work with one of those new long rods (I fancy the K2 Titaniums by Shakespeare).

I'll say it again. Multipliers do not give you distance - no matter what the "experts" say. Learn to cast well with a fixed spool and then consider switching.

Rhod.

·
Registered
24 Posts