World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had a disaster on the beach this weekend,besides blanking I wrote off my Daiwa 9000 which Ive been using for 20 years,gutted.Im thinking about going back to multipliers but dont particularly want to buy new rods as well tho both my rods have seen a fair bit of action(Century Slammer and a Zippy 2500)they are still perfectly fine but they are ringed for fixed spool - my question is,will I get away with using these rods with multipliers and which are the most user friendly babys out there ,I dont pendulem but favour off the ground,from what I have read the Slosh20 takes a bit of beating but I would welcome any input from your good selves

·
Registered
11,216 Posts
penn 525 mag. easy to use and adjust and as tough as the slosh. it will also cast as far as an abu 6500 and handle the rough when needed.

·
The Chosen One
4,518 Posts
slosh everytime snoopy you may lose a few yards in casting over the 525 but the slosh wont bite you back if you fluff something the 525s are expensive and to tempremental in my humble opinion you can get a brand new slosh 30 for 60 notes bargain:):) unless you get one of the supermag xtras or whatever penn are calling them this month i think you will be disappointed penn said there was nothing wrong with the original 525mag:g:so why spend a fortune developing extra magnets and new models TO FIX SOMETHING THAT WASNT BROKE:uhuh::uhuh: let me know how you get on with whatever you buy and yes they will work with your fixed spool rods

·
Registered
424 Posts
If your rods are rung specifically for fixed spool rods, i.e., with fewer than six or seven rings, then they aren't suitable for use with multipliers as the line will rub against the blank when retrieving with the reel on top, especially when under pressure.