World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,493 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Now before Iget into this, I am thinking some of you may remember that Ihad a session at the beginning of January and posted up a report which lacked any bass in it.
You are quite correct but if you remember I caught that tennis ball sized sea urchin and its adjoining rock therefore avoiding the blank.......
Anyyhow....
Had today booked off for a few weeks as using up holiday before Ifinish my current job on Friday and the plan was always to get out fishing and see if a Kentish February bass could be on the cards.
As the weather was not good for any form of clarity in the water pretty much anywhere in Kent, I decided that my local backup mark (where Icaught my first Bass) was on the cards.
Turned up in time to start fishing at 11:30 till 3:30 and was happy to see mullet swimming in the tea colour water. There was only around 6" visibility but as Shaun recently pointed out, im new to this and still over eager(and therefore fish when I should go home and blank).
I fished the whole session without the sign of a bass but did get a good go on my new rarenium and ballistic pairing which Imust admit is a dream compared to my old setup.
I went through lures of all depths both soft and hard, surface and sub, but it was just not to be.
Idid however find that certain lures of mine have been given a new lease of life by my new outfit and both cast and perform better than they used to.
Would also like to mention that I tested out my Duo Spearhead Ryuki 80s today which I think is a treat of a lure. Its a sinking lure that has a nice and subtle (glass sounding) rattle and vibrates better than the zonk (more like the tight wobble of an x-rap). I was fishing it in very shallow water but was able to maintain a suitable depth and think as a halfway between jerk baits and vib lures its a nice addition to the tackle box.