World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Back from Exile
6,730 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After reading about this stuff on here I decided to give it a go the other day to make up some rigs. It is not that long ago that I graduated from sliding stop knots onto crimps, and I've always been a bit wary of the crimps for distance casting.

Anyway long story short the tubing is brilliant! Very quick and easy to use, easy to adjust (knocked up a 2 hook clip down with cascade swivel in minutes and no faffing about getting the snood lengths right) and worked perfectly on the beach with no slippage even with a fish on the end.

Wish I'd made the change ages ago but to anyone out there still mucking around with crimps - ditch them and start using the tubing - it's brill :victory:

·
Banned
15,040 Posts
Agreed 100%, but just to add...dont use Gemini rig tubing on the rig body itself, the rig body will slice through it like butter as soon as you put any tension on it ie: when casting

·
Banned
1,597 Posts
Im interested.

This tubing that you so eloquently describe?

In order to GRIP your main line it needs to be of a smaller diameter than your mainline?

How is this possible?

·
Registered
7,164 Posts
Im interested.

In order to GRIP your main line it needs to be of a smaller diameter than your mainline?

How is this possible?
Nope,

the best you can get/I've used is about 0.7mm - 1mm internal diameter and to use it, you do this, cut to about 7mm in length

if you need any contact David Gould by PM :thumbs:

·
Registered
5,499 Posts
Im interested.

How is this possible?
I guess that we are talking about cutting a small piece of neoprene tubing, about 3 or 4 mm, then threading the rig body through it twice? then pulling the rig body tight.. you may need 2 or three of these together to make an effective stop..

·
Registered
5,499 Posts
Nope,