World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys I'm new to boating and would like to know a few things about putting the boat into the water ...like when is the best time... tide going out or tide coming in ? any help appreciated ...weman4u

·
Registered
259 Posts
I am assuming by the question that you will be launching from a trailer?. In which case launching the boat from a slipway would be best after high water. I am no expert but if you have any sort of problem with the towing vehicle surely it would be more comforting knowing the tide is going away from it rather than towards it.
I have recently bought my first boat which I have been restoring. It is nearly ready to go into the water now, and like yourself I will be launching from a slipway. That is the way I will be doing it.

Good luck

FLATTY

·
Registered
2,399 Posts
Hi guys I'm new to boating and would like to know a few things about putting the boat into the water ...like when is the best time... tide going out or tide coming in ? any help appreciated ...weman4u
It depends where you're launching from.
Some slipways you can launch ok at any tide state, some, well, you can't, you have to launch at specific times, you need to find the info on the slipway you intend to use, if not, you could arrive to find there isn't enough water to get launched, or, you get launched with just enough water, only to find you're out for half an hour, get a problem, but there isn't enough water to recover the boat and have to sit out the remainder of the ebb and a load of the flood tide to get the boat back onto the trailer.

There isn't an answer to the best time to launch, it's all dependant on the slipway and what you plan to do, work this out for yourself the best you can, then suck it and see :)