World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I’m new to this and just acquired the above reel. Can someone describe the line tension set up please. It seems to me that with the star drag locked up tight I can still pull line of the spool with some strength where I’d expect it to break before letting off line with it locked up hard .

can anyone describe the set up with left and right controls and the star drag please

·
Registered
450 Posts
might need new drag washers mate, you can get them on ebay, cheap as chips. left and right controls are for centering the spool though i do know on the turbo version the left hand side one (not handle side) is described as a mechanical brake.

·
Registered
380 Posts
I'm not certain what the drag rating is for the 7HT - perhaps someone more knowledgeable does? But I can't imagine it would be more than 8kg or so - the drag washers are pretty small after all. I upgraded the ones in my original 7HT mags to the carbontex versions but would imagine that I could pull the 0.35mm line they're loaded with and they would give line before it broke. That's the whole point of the drag after all...so that your line doesn't break when bringing in fish.

If however it's giving line rather easily then it could be that washers are worn / missing / damaged - you never know if it's a second hand reel. I'd start by checking them - give them a clean, light greasing then reassemble, or if they are older felt ones or whatever look to replace with some carbon ones.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Many thanks. Where are the washers please. I’ve seen the metal discs in the knurled knob is that what you mean.
I’m a coarse fisherman and I’m just thinking that if I get hooked up and am pulling for a break and it doesn’t break that would be an issue . I get your point though maybe I’m expecting too much by pulling on the leader .

·
Registered
380 Posts