World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi to all of you.im new to all this have not fished for about 20yrs started again about a month ago beach fishing off chesil at wyke regis.now have the chance to buy a 14-16ft dingy with small outboard so any advice about small boat fishing would be most welcome :confused:

·
Registered
116 Posts
Thats a rather vague question..What kind of things are you wanting to know about small boat fishing?

Baits/Tactics/Marks etc...so much information

·
Registered
196 Posts
Hi Skip

Take a good look through all the past posts in the boat section and you will find lots of info.

1 piece of advice if your new to boating is to take an RYA course, and visit your nearest RNLI centre to have your boat safety check.

Best of

GB

G

·
Great to see you want to go boating!

Theres nothing really wrong with a 14 - 16 boat as long as its in good condition and you have all the safety gear.

Great tip above - get it checked by the experts first! invaluable.

However, one thing you must always - always remember and I keep telling people on my boat.

NEVER EVER let the anchor come in contact with anything other than the front of the boat.

The tide, no matter how small can pull you down quicker then yo can think why if it is on the side or worst still the stern, and floatation tanks and the like wont help either.

And no matter what safety gear you have, radio, flares etc you will not even have chance to reach it - or your life jacket, believe me i've seen it happen, albeit here in the bristol channel where the tides are very strong.

Please though don't forget all the other things you need to do before actually launching, more this is a tip for when you are actually out there.

Sorry to go on but it is usually the one thing that even experienced small ;) boaters forget.