World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Morning Guys

I was thinking of trying to improve my luck so far this year by taking the boat out for a nights fishing! I have never done this before and as per usual would be greatful for some advice in terms of;

Navigation - how much can you actually see? If it isnt a clear night can you make out the coastline (assuming you are close enough). I suppose its similar to be being out in fog!

Moon - in terms of fishing is it the darker the better?

Marks - I guess this one requires local knowledge but should marks that fish well during the day also produce at night?

Finally, Tackle - is there a neccessity to add artificial lights (glow rods etc) to your setup, in order to attract the fish?

Thanks in advance boys

Ryan

·
Registered
34 Posts
For starters try this test

You will need navigation lights and its wise to have a back up battery to start your engine.

Have a good knowledge of were you are going to fish and charts if your fishing in shipping lanes its wise to have a radar reflector.

It can be foggy at night as well so navigation skills and equipment are essential

Tackle is the same as day make sure you have back up torches and a head lamp is good.

Best advise I can give is be extra careful fishing at night is great but you cant see as well obviously so take your time and have some one looking out don't all fall asleep.

·
Registered
5,557 Posts
I fish all night on the boat and it can be superb. The fish tend to come into shallower water and venture out from structures. Live baiting can be brilliant. I find the darker the night the better. I fish the same tackle as day time, occasionally adding small luminous beads above the hooks. I only fish the night if the weather is settled and calm.