World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alreet guys

I've noticed a couple of threads on here regarding norway trips so i'm assuming that a few of you have gone. I'm wondering if any of you have been lucky/unlucky enough to catch a wolf fish ? and did you ..

a) Turn to stone

b) Bludgeon it to death out of fear

c) Gingerly un-hook it and return it to the waters with the utmost of respect

Apparently they can be eaten, has anyone tried it ?

Also, although as a newbie I'm not planning on going there just yet, but out of curiosity what are the regulations regarding bringing cod back from norway, i can see the attraction of bringing back a couple of 30-40 + lb cod to be eaten at leisure back home, not withstanding the pleasure of landing such big fish

·
Registered
176 Posts
wolf fish taste better than cod just be carefull of their gnashers though they go through your fingers as though they wernt their lol dave

·
Registered
250 Posts
Wolf fish don't just taste better then cod. They taste a hell of a lot better then cod. Absolutely fab.

Officially you are allowed to 'export' fileted fish up to a maximum of 15 kilos per person. This law came in effect last year ( or was it already the year before? ). I said officially, because allthough the Norwegian set a maximum by law, they neglected to at the same time also define a suitable sanction in case you exceed that maximum. Because of this, customs didnt really know what to do when they caught someone and as a result just did nothing.
I am not sure if this is still the case, but judging from the *enormous* amounts I see the Germans take home each year I doubt if things have changed.