World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I'm new to this sea fishing lark and this web site, only caught 2 mackerel so far hence the name.

On Sunday I want to go with the family to either Ogmore By Sea or Porthcawl because it's not too far from home. (Tewkesbury).

I'd be happy to catch mackerel, bass or dogfish.

The family who are going with me would like a nice sandy beach.

Where would you suggest I go, what can I catch there and where can I get some bait on a Sunday from ?

Any help greatly appriciated.

·
Accepts cakes as bribes.
12,213 Posts
Welcome to the site. Can't help with info on Porthcawl and tackle shop but plenty of people here can. Gonna be a hot one on Sunday. Enjoy!

·
Registered
7,179 Posts
thing is,,,you will be at these beaches in the day,,which will be low tide..

So i would suggest that you fish porthcawl pier,,whilst the missus and kids go on the beach in front of the fair ground..

but to be honest ,,most places are fishing quite quiet at the mo..the weather is getting nice for the weekend,,might bring the mackeral in again..

Ogmore is only a few miles away,,if you decide to fish the night tide...there are some nice rock marks off the main ogmore beach carpark,,

Best place is the shingle beach to the left of the lifeguard house..produces some good specimens when it wants too..

Hope this is of some help..

and welcome to the WSF site

Marcus

·
Registered
76 Posts
hi there ogmore is good for bass and the family fish to the left of the river opening a few mates of mine have been catching some decent bass down there. good luck.enjoy :cool:

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
marcus said:
So i would suggest that you fish porthcawl pier,,whilst the missus and kids go on the beach in front of the fair ground..
Marcus
Thanks for that Marcus,