World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to your form.
I fish weekly on Party Boats out of Seabrook,New Hampshire.USA.
Usualy we travel out 25 to 35 miles, 1 1/2 to 2 1/2 hours. These trips are about 8 1/2 to 12 hours.
On our Party Boats you each buy a ticket and find a Rail Position where ever you can and stake your claim.
We fish for Cod , Haddock & Pollock.
We us both Bait ( Clams or Herring ) and Jigs ( Pirks ) along with a Cod Fly above the Jig.
Some days one or the other works well and some days nothing works.
Now the Dog Fish are moving out and the Pollock will start moving in.
We have some limits set for our area ( Gulf of Maine )
( Cod 24" min. and 10 fish only ) ( Haddock 18" Min.)
( Pollock 19" Min.)
I make my own Jigs ( Pirks ) from moulds that I buy on ebay,UK.
I will try to post some pictures but may need some help.( I think I did post a picture of a nice Cod )
On some sites an Image Hosting site is needed ?
I fished Yesterday ( Aug.13,09 ) and the Haddock bite was on in the AM. but after the tide changed it was slow fishing.
I ended the day with 6 nice haddock and 2 pollick.
I would like to hear from some of you and maybe exchange some information or idears.
Jigstoo, My real name is Ron.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,415 Posts
Hi Ron
Welcome to the forum
Nice to hear what happens the other side of the pond, thats a heck of a way to go out fishing, don't your charter (party) boats not fish closer inshore?

I don't (yet) do a lot of boat fishing, have done in the past, and getting back into it again.
We had an afternoon trip, 4 hrs, a couple of weeks ago,(charter boat) not serious fishing, but an afternoon out with my son, his neighbour and a couple friends.

We fished with feathers, and mackerel, had a load of small Pollock upto 2 1/2lb a score of Mackerel and some Conger up to 20lb and we were about 200yds off the shore, can only get to this mark by boat.