World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,262 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Recieved a second hand 525 gs today. I've had no experience of these reels before, only the mag versions.
I took off the sideplate and discovered 4 small metal pins and 4 brake blocks, all unattached to anything, just rattling around loose.
Does anyone know, what should I do to set up the braking system correctly? I expected there to be 1 or 2 long metal pins, not 4 small ones, might they have snapped in half or should they come like this? Do I actually need any form of braking in the reel or should I leave it out?

in addition, the reel is 5 years old, what should I do to restore it? I've added some Penn oil to the bearings and other moving parts, it appears to be running a bit smoother now.

Cheers

·
Registered
1,030 Posts
Recieved a second hand 525 gs today. I've had no experience of these reels before, only the mag versions.
I took off the sideplate and discovered 4 small metal pins and 4 brake blocks, all unattached to anything, just rattling around loose.
Does anyone know, what should I do to set up the braking system correctly? I expected there to be 1 or 2 long metal pins, not 4 small ones, might they have snapped in half or should they come like this? Do I actually need any form of braking in the reel or should I leave it out?

in addition, the reel is 5 years old, what should I do to restore it? I've added some Penn oil to the bearings and other moving parts, it appears to be running a bit smoother now.

Cheers
thats how they r m8t,
its up 2 u how many breaks u want 2 use but i would just use the 2 m8t 2 start with:) just take 2 out & make sure the other 2 run free on the pins & u r set:clap2:

·
Registered
308 Posts