World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I ordered a penn powerstik, by post, via the GAC.
Rings damaged so phoned them up.
I actually drove 150 miles for a day trip to Glasgow and swapped, no problems, the rod there.
The only problem with the replacement was it was difficult to get the rod together/ apart (well, almost impossible)
Some vaseline (tips from this forum) has put it right.

Problem though. I got a surfmaster 850 when I was at the shop.
Tried it today. When you wind the crank, when it oscillates to its least point, it sticks - forward or reverse. I tried a basic strip but can't see why it is doing this save taking the whole thing apart - which I am not wanting to do.

This means that a slow wind will always stick. With a bit of a fast wind (quite fast really), it does not stick but surely this real should not do that.

This is the third bit of Penn kit I have ever bought and each has had a problem. I was going to get a PPT (when I had the cash) but have gone right off Penn so far.

I am loath to send it off back to GAC (cos of the cost) and won't be driving to the shop that is for sure.

It would be interesting to get advice or hear if anyone else has had these problems - especially with the Penn Surfmaster.

(I only got the real because of all the positive reports on it - maybe I was just unlucky or it is made this way?)

Sawfish

·
Registered
477 Posts
I actually drove 150 miles for a day trip to Glasgow and swapped, no problems, the rod there.
The only problem with the replacement was it was difficult to get the rod together/ apart (well, almost impossible)

Tried it today. When you wind the crank, when it oscillates to its least point, it sticks - forward or reverse. I tried a basic strip but can't see why it is doing this save taking the whole thing apart - which I am not wanting to do.