Going up well now....such a shame to watch...:eek:hmy:

·
Mullet Meister???
6,756 Posts
Gutting :( excuse the punt, dont look good

·
Registered
3,011 Posts
I was there in May when I had a week in Patesters caravan.

First time on the pier since I was 6years old. This time I was with my daughter and grandson.

Sad to see it go this way.

Wonder if they will find the money to rebuild?

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Dave, i did think the same when i heard new owners, combined with the economic downturn, doesnt look good.

All those old piers should be taken over by the national trust, they are part of our history.

I used to work in the insurance industry, and a pier was the absolute highest risk asset you could own. those things are just fire traps.

I do hope it gets rebuit.

·
The people's moral compass
12,847 Posts
Just been taken over so i heard by new owners,,,,hope my cynical thoughts are proved to be unfounded.
Dave
funnily enough, thats what i was thinking.

i remember the west pier at brighton going up, and coming down, palace pier were dead set against it being re-opened, and strangely, when it seemed it was a bigger possibility than ever, lottery grant etc, it was torched, now just a rotting framework.

:g::g:

·
Registered
229 Posts
Jesus i wass thinking the same............cynical gits us lot :laugh:

Tis a shame to see though,agree with the thought they should all be taken over by National Trust

·
Registered
5,565 Posts
Why on earth would the owners be responsible for this at a time when the kids have just broken up for summer holidays, the weather is the hottest its been all year ..... they would have made loadsa money so doubt they would be responsible for something like this. :wacko:

·
Registered
8,340 Posts