World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
390 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I am new to boat owning and have a CJR 14 with a 1985 35hp Mercury engine. I had it out on Loch Etive last weekend, and have a few questions about propellers if anyone can help me.

I admit I am a bit baffled as to all the talk of propeller pitch etc, but I understand the theory of ventilation and cavitation, a theory I put into practice by chewing my prop on some rocks. It certainly led to much vibration and churning of water without much movement! It is now with Steel Developments for repair.

Before I damaged it however, I did get a wee shot in the boat by myself, and was pleased at how it went. What I did notice though was that at full throttle, especially if I put the power on quickly, it seemed to just spin too quickly to move the boat, which came offthe plane and slowed down. If I applied power more gradually, I could get it up to almost full throttle and quite fast too, but the last wee 1/5th of throttle would lead to it spinning too fast again.

After a bit of research, I am aware that changing to a differently pitched prop could alleviate this, but was baffled by the talk of obtaining max throttle and RPM ratings. I dont even know what pitch my prop is, although I have asked Steel Developments to advise on suitatble replacement props for my engine. Hopefully they will tell me what my current prop is!

Could anyone tell me the laymens terms pitch thoery on how to match the best prop for the engine, I dont want to tow waterskiers or accelarate like a Ferrari or anything, just want to be able to go to full speed smoothly now and again without turning the water into a cappucino!