World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello there,
So I'm still learning about beach fishing and trying different rigs. Been using the pully rig on one rod with big baits (bluey, squid/worm wraps etc) and now and again on the cast the hook releases from the breakaway lead clip on the cast. Changed over to an " imp" I think it's called with the plastic clip and same thing happened on a few occasions. Anybody suggest ways of stopping this or what maybe causing it?
Many thanks in advance for any help.

·
Registered
2,064 Posts
Hi mate, im guessing that during the cast that tension isnt constant on the hooklenght and therefore falls out mid cast.

I'd suggest getting some gemini splash down clips, they keep the hook secure until the 'splash' into the sea releases it. I rate them highly, and to date not 1 has released prematurely. Worth the money.

Screenshot_20181006-002227.jpg

·
Premium Member
6,426 Posts
Hello there,
So I'm still learning about beach fishing and trying different rigs. Been using the pully rig on one rod with big baits (bluey, squid/worm wraps etc) and now and again on the cast the hook releases from the breakaway lead clip on the cast. Changed over to an " imp" I think it's called with the plastic clip and same thing happened on a few occasions. Anybody suggest ways of stopping this or what maybe causing it?
Many thanks in advance for any help.
Hiya mate,
Premature hook release can be caused by a few things-
A jerky or snatched cast will often cause it but if you're using big baits once you get 2, 3 or 4 ounce of bait its harder for your lead to tow it out so the hook often unclips mid cast.
I fish big baits all the time & have been using the Gemini Splashdown leads & Solo clips for a good while now & very very rarely do i get a bait unclip early now & have yet to have one fail to unclip, they can be prone to getting clogged up with mud or grit but a quick dip in the sea easily clears it.