World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I feel a little foolish posting this but here goes...Recentley ive started pushing all my casts to the right even though i dont seem to be anything differently..i used to be arrow straight but over the past few months ive started going a little off line..My distance doesnt seem to be affected and the trajectory is good..Is it just my release thats a fraction early?..What can i do to correct it?..Is it just a case of aiming further left?..Can you keep the answers simple as im a bit dim at times.

·
Registered
1,434 Posts
im no expert but try shortening your drop a little ,should bring it back to line ,although 5 degree right off centre i think is best anyway!? and also check your not getting spool slip. I have small hands and with a fully loaded reel i have trouble gripping it, the harder i hit the worse it gets. Maybe you have changed the line or filled it higher than normal. Some times i didnt even now i was doing it!. Good luck

·
Registered
206 Posts
Maybe you're a bit overconfident lately and speed things up too much.
Allways remember slow in fast out, if you pick up too much speed too soon in the cast. It will be hard to cast straight, cause your body isn't behind the rod yet and therefore the forces are too big to handle in that position to finish the cast the right way. Just take it a few steps back.

·
Registered
1,111 Posts
normally if your your going to far to the right you are loading the rod to early which causes it to start to slip from under your thumb

but if your not to far to the right i wouldn,t worry about it

·
Registered
2,086 Posts
I believe that Smoothy has got it right on this one.

Its difficult to give advice without actually seeing you cast though

for me... If i'm going right i slightly shorthen the drop - if i'm going left i lengthen it slightly.

Its not always this simple but it does help