World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
202 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys I would like to ask you all a question and hopefully get some advice.

I am making the transition from Fixed spool to multi set up. I have just bought 2 salt mx's, so thats the rods sorted.

Now to find some reels. I probably only have a budget of about £70 at the moment so obviously its got to be 2nd hand.

Now for my question, would I be better off buying 2 x Slosh30's for about that money or buying 1 of something else, 6500 mag elite for example and then saving up for a second?

Please bear in mind I am new to casting a multi so want something that is fairly easy to use, which is why thought about the slosh as I have read that its usable "out the box", but I understand the abu's are more customisable and could be tamed until I get more proficient and allow me to "grow" into them.

Most of my fishing is over cleanish ground, heaviest amount of work would be weed at Selsey.

You thoughts and suggestions will be much appreciated.

·
Registered
1,445 Posts
I'm a big Abu fan so can recommend the 6500 mag elite for ease of use especially for a newbie to multipliers.When you're starting out, just have the mag brake full on and you can't really go wrong.It's instantly adjustable and far more convenient than brake blocks.I still adjust my brake even though I'm quite proficient with it. It's very handy when casting into a strong headwind especially with the lighter 3oz leads that you might use when surf bassing for instance.
I regularly run five different Abus for both boat , beach and saltwater spin-all of them bought second hand. I give them a proper flush under fresh water and slacken the drag after EVERY trip,occasionally put a drop of oil in the bearings, a full strip down once a year(easy peasy) and have never had any trouble with them.

·
Registered
1,244 Posts