World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
262 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Reason I ask is that after 2 of us doing a bit of an experiment, we could see no advantage of reel-down.

Distances were no better with the reel down, they were like for like give or take a few yards either way on each cast.

So, it leaves me the question of why have the reel down, a position I find a disadvantage when fishing?

Perhaps I am missing something.

·
Registered
148 Posts
Hi Medway, i am by no means an expert but the main reason I have been told for reel down is that when you cast you have the extra weight of the reel at the bottom of the rod allowing you to push the rod harder with your top hand, also you do not need to use your pushing hand to hold the spool.
After using a multi in the up position all my life, I too find it very awkward to cast reel down. Like throwing a ball with your left hand, LOL. (assuming you are right handed)

·
Registered
4,295 Posts
i get some extra distance maybe 20-30 yards or so, but i dont really see how it compresses the rod more, because your right hand is basically in the same place but with out the grip lock or coasters, so i dont see how it makes the rod bend anymore???
ive emptied my spool on the 525 with 18lb line twice, reel up and the other time it was down.... but i hold my hand up... i was casting with the wind so that prob helped a good bit lol

the problem with casting out far is you need to wind it all the way back in... not easy with a big fish on the end... anything up too 150 yards is more than enough in my opinion

·
Registered
262 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Harry, you are coming from the same place as me.

I cant see how I can "hit" the cast harder just because I have my thumb on the spool.

Perhaps if I had small hands it may be so but I have plenty of rod in my hand when casting reel-up.

·
Registered
2,421 Posts
Harry, you are coming from the same place as me.