World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi i am rather new to beachcasting,and i have never tryed to cast with the reel in down possition,i grew up with multipliers,so it feels very strange and clumsy to mount the reel downward and use lefthand instead of right.
so i am looking for a couple of advises before i try it out,But why put it down the butt,when it looks wrong and feels uncomftable,
is there difference in casting style, and will it gain my distances
i use a 14,6 rod,4-5oz,abu ct, OTG cast,
Chears niels

·
Registered
2,527 Posts
Hi, i recently changed to the low Butt position. This was forced due to pains in my right hand after too much boat fishing(an age thing i guess)
I actually found that the rod felt better balanced with the extra weight lower down & felt i could put more effort into the cast.I struggled at first to stop the spool slipping with my left thumb.Fitted a rubber strip below the reel seat to lay over the spool when casting which improved it but as i am getting more used to it i am finding i dont need it with anything but 7 or 8oz leads. I will persevere with it but when my right hand is ok i will try again in the high position to see which i like best.

·
Registered
4,276 Posts
Most longer rods will feel better balanced in the low position, you wont gain distance just by moving it down but with a little advice the distances will creep up again and a good chance go beyond what you have been doing.
I tried it yaers ago for one sesh on two rods and stuck at it for the whole day(due to having a weak right thumb and couldnt hold the multiplier tight enough) by the end of the day I new I wasnt moving it back up.
Stick with it you may surprise yourself how good it feels after a wee while.

jim

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·