World Sea Fishing Forums banner

Which would you go for

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello guys!! I have managed to save some money (£200) and decided I am going to buy my first "descent" rod. I have decided to go with the Vercelli range. Mainly because i heard they are fairly light in weight..(i have a back problem, cant handle heavy rod.) I have been researching it and like the reviews.

Ps I am a fixed spool user.

My question is do.. Do I go with a 14ft or a 15ft? I am not a pro at casting.. I fish Brighton area where i think distance is essential.. But is the one foot difference going to change the distance much??

Your advise is much needed as i will be getting my rod next week... Thanks in advance

·
Registered
3,550 Posts
The fifteen ft should get you more distance with less effort, I have a three piece Triplex that I got a few years ago and find it really easy with a fixed spool reel. Quite a light rod, weel for me anyway.
Good luck with ever you get.

·
Registered
111 Posts
I have a Vercelli Amarella which is lovely rod and you can pick them up for under £200. I also have dodgy back and found all the 15' rods a lot heavier than 14'.

·
Registered
111 Posts
Forgot to say I also have a 14' Leeda Icon FS Sport which is incredibly light and you can buy new £100 - £140!! Cracking value.

·
Banned
1,485 Posts
Knackered disc up between my shoulder blades means I get on better with the 14 rather than 15 ft rods. The amount of extra torque ,for want of a better word, needed to get the best out of the longer rod was just a good way of popping the disc out of place. The 13.5 ft rod I chopped down from 14ft is better to manage still, and no drop in distance as I can just get it moving better.

I am used to coarse gear so all this stuff is a bit alien and heavy to me though.

·
Registered
1,931 Posts