World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I'm now in my second year of sea fishing and although the first was reasonably successful using carp rods I need the correct tool for the job.

Can anyone point me towards a good beach rod, capable of getting me those extra yards with 3/4/5oz of lead but a bit more sensitive than your average broom handle you see in the shops. I would actually like to see the bites

Would 14/15ft be around the right length or am I barking up the wrong tree here. What sort of budget do I need

Thanks guys

·
Registered
62 Posts
Hi, depends where you will be fishing. I do most of my fishing in the worthing/shoreham area and just scaled down to much lighter tackle where i can. I have just purchased the 11 ft estuary rod made by anyfish anywhere. Lovely rod and will cast upto 4 oz, but appreciate that you may be looking for something a little heavier if you already use carp rods. some of the other guys maybe able to gve you some advise on what to go for in that mid range. I also use a Abu Xodus that has loads of power, has a very sensitive tip and can cast upto 200 grams. Depends also on your casting style.......

·
The people's moral compass
12,847 Posts
i'd also recommend the abu Xodus, great all round rod, casts really well, sits tight in all but the heaviest winds (i'm talking force 6+ here), and shows bites lovely,

also have an abu suveran sp match, just as good but stiffer and more powerful,
both are aprx 13ft rods. i picked up both of them in very good con'd for about £60 second hand.

·
Registered
284 Posts
Shakespeare Tidewater Beachcaster!!!!!!!!! from Jim's mail order at a snip over £40.

They are rated 4-8oz, however they are more suited to a 3-4oz leads, they are extremely light and have great bite detection.

I have one of these as a back up rod and use it more often than my rods in the £200+ range.