World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
<font color='#000000'>Hello

Hello
I&#39;m new to fishing and as I live in Cornwall I would like to try rock fishing.
I will be fishing for mackerel using 3 to 4 feathered/or shrimp type lures with a 2 to 3 oz weight on the end, and also spinning for mackerel,pollack and maybe bass with a 1oz Abu Toby type spoon?
It has been sujested to me that a Bass rod would fit the bill.
My question is:
Will a Shakespeare Odessa Bass Rod(cast weight 2-4oz)lift 4 mackerel on a trace straight out of the sea say 10 feet up a rock face?(when rock fishing).
Also
Could a beachcaster(cast weight 4-6oz)be used to cast 1oz spoons/spinners?If not,then why not?
Sorry if these seem like stupid questions but I am a complete novice and don&#39;t want to buy the wrong rod
Thanks</font>

·
Registered
2,947 Posts
<font color='#000000'>I would say the bass rod is suitable for heavy spinners, float fishing and light legering but I wouldnt advise that you place it under the pressure of lifting 4 mackerel up a 10ft drop.

You can cast spinners with a beachcaster but you will not get any distance what so ever as the rod does not have enough whip and flexabilty for such light weights.

I know its an extra expense but I would suggest that you buy a seperate spinning rod and beachcaster that has the guts to cope with heavy work demanded by rock fishing.</font>

·
Registered
50 Posts
<font color='#000080'>Hi