World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I bought this rod for pier and occasional boat fishing last week - DAM Fighter Pro boat rod 100-300g 9ft. Thought would be strong enough for both.

So I went to pier fishing last Sunday to try it out and guess what it snapped in the middle where 2 pieces joining.

All I had 2 mackerel on the line. The rod was pointing down to water when I was spooling them in and as soon it come just above the water and I’ve tried to lift it snapped.

Now I’m really confused weather I did something wrong or something wrong with my rod. I have no fishing experience from piers but I have a lot from rivers fishing e.g. spinning, carp, bottom etc.

After investigation online according to spec it should weight 392g but when I weighted my rod it was only 334g.
Some photos here: https://drive.google.com/drive/mobile/folders/0B2_xTrEYePkKY3lHQzdnSkpOblk?usp=sharing

Now I need to try sort our refund and buy a better one.

·
Registered
9,350 Posts
A knock on the pier handrail or boat gunwales is all it takes to weaken it enough to snap.

Was the break at handrail height !;)

Seems there are two sorts of fragile rods nowdays too cheap and too expensive , i would prefer a slightly heavier one that lasts the day !
I know Dam made some reasonable coarse rods but most of the sea rods seem to be less well designed.
Go for a Shakespeare or even better Daiwa next time.
Uptider might suit you .

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Didn't knock it definitely in fact all it had a 15-20 min of its life. It snapped around rail height 0 degree (parallel to water)
I have Shakespeare ugly stick river spinning rod which is awesome. Do you have any particular model to suggest 9ft 10ft range.

·
Registered
9,350 Posts
Not much springs to mind 9-10 ft it is an in-between length.
Won't go wrong with an ugly stik uptide or 20 class boat at 7.5 to 8 ft.