World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,119 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
when tying my 60lb shock leader to 18lb mainline i use the knot shown on this site though i lose the whole lot almost every snag just wondering if anyone uses different knot or could tell me what im doing wrong?

iv been fishing a long time though only started to fish seriously a year or so ago and im pretty new to the concept of using shockleader so im probably doin something wrong when joining the lines
any advice would be appreciated many thanks! :D

·
Registered
1,257 Posts
Hi lewis888,

I always use Drennan Greased Weasel as my shockleader.

Tie a Double grinner knot onto the Greased Weasel using the mainline.Then tie an ordinary Granny knot on the Greased Weasel with the mainline going through it and pull tight. Then carefully, useing a lighter, burn the tag end of the Greased weasel as near to the mainline as possible. This seals the Granny so that it will not open. Pull the main line onto the granny as tight as you can, and trim the end. There is no way that the join will come apart.

Some anglers make a mushroom end on the Greased Weasel with a lighter and use this instead of a Granny knot, this method is OK for light work but I wouldn't trust it for anything heavy.

Cheers

Drew

·
Registered
438 Posts
get your self some tapered shockleader inever use eny thing else now you get anice neat knote 60lb down to 16lb i get no probs now

·
Registered
11,184 Posts
make sure you are not using old mainline check for wear if used regularly used then change after about 10 sessions. after a snapoff remove atleast 2m of line as this will remove any overstretched line and make sure you lubricate all nots well.

·
Registered
2,119 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for all the replies, lots of things id never thought about like removing the 2m of stretched line after a snap makes sense though.