World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts
T

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
<font color='#000000'>hey im pretty new to sea fishing and ive worked out that shockleaders is for the rigs is this true &nbsp;or is &nbsp;it &nbsp;just used for just the sinker part

thanks</font>

·
Registered
6 Posts
<font color='#000000'>Hi,

If you&#39;re doing any serious casting its highly recommended you use a shock leader. &nbsp;The general rule is, the breaking strain is oz * 10 + 10 for safety. &nbsp;So a 5oz lead would require a 60lb shock leader. &nbsp;The length is usually around 9 metres (30 feet) or 5-10 turns on the spool and then back to the first guide on your rod. &nbsp;Don&#39;t worry too much about exact length&#33;

Check out THIS link to learn how to tie a shock leader to your main line. &nbsp;Or otherwise use whats called a "tapered" leader which tapers from 60lb to 18lb.

If you use swivels then your main trace swivel needs to be stronger than the shock leader, so you need to have a trace swivel (preferably a rolling pattern) of size 6 which is 80lb.

Your Lead trace needs to be either equal or stronger than the shock leader also.

HTH&#33;</font>

T

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
<font color='#000000'>so shockleader isnt for traces or can i use it

anyway this is confuseing..</font>

·
Registered
25 Posts
<font color='#000000'>depends what u mean by traces if ur talking about the line to the hook then use what u want say 12-20lb or more depending on what species u want and the presentation.
there are just two main types of rigs we use, legers and paternosters. i advise u to look some up on a search engine, but a leger rig is where the weight is sliding on the mainline &nbsp;(shockleader) which u attach the hooklength to the end of - u have all the protection u need with the leader to take the impact.