World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3,094 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As stated b4,im a glutton for information when moving into a new area of angling
as in Sea in this case.
So........Having bombarded "the better anglers" (nuffin personal to any other
learners like myself out there) to provide me with a simple means to
get to grips with all Sea Angling.....ie......vids/dvd,s and so forth, my mate Terry
stumbled over 2 DVD,S albeit from 1993....tackle changes/teaching techniques
do not.
They are Simple Surf Casting parts 1 and 2......now we both have been angling for 40 yrs plus.....but.....in the Sea arena we are complete novices.
Hence me having found what in my/our opinion are 2 bits of relaxing and informative film covering bait collection/multiplier maintenance and most
importantly a "frame by frame" look at the OTG cast and the Hi Inertia cast.
Now both being"Lob casters" it will no doubt take us some time to assimulate
the techniques of either cast,but i am pleased to say that as a result of watching the vid,s our casting and general understanding of sea angling skills has improved no end.
Now the instructor is none other than "Philtherod"....AKA.....Phil Hyde.
so sorry for "Biggin you up Phil" but if there are any other gems
out there just as instructive please let me know.
All you newy,s (like me) give em a go...!!!!!!
O and by the way Phil.....or.....Jack Hargreaves of the south west.!!!
mines a pint.....:notworthy :notworthy :notworthy

Gaz :)

·
Registered
2,835 Posts
Agree with you here,they are good for newbies,but even better would be to actually go to one of Philtherod,s casting sessions at Goodrington Sands,Paignton during the summer months.
Top bloke in many peoples opinions on here,:notworthy, but what amazes me is how he kept his cool in those 2 videos,having to work with that irritating little RUNT (Liam Dale).

·
Registered
3,094 Posts
Discussion Starter #4