World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys coming up to southerness over the bank holidays for 4 days,Id be very greatful for any information on local marks and how to fish them ,Im a bit of a novice ,but will be bringing acouple of carp rods for dab and flonder fishing ,and some spinning gear for any rock marks ,also have a beachcaster for some shore fishing ,also dont mind catching doggies there still fish after all lol,thank you whippet

·
Registered
3,248 Posts
Hi guys coming up to southerness over the bank holidays for 4 days,Id be very greatful for any information on local marks and how to fish them ,Im a bit of a novice ,but will be bringing acouple of carp rods for dab and flonder fishing ,and some spinning gear for any rock marks ,also have a beachcaster for some shore fishing ,also dont mind catching doggies there still fish after all lol,thank you whippet
Welcome to the forum mate, At Southerness the species most likely to encounter in order of abundance are flounder, dab, eel, plaice and bass. Anything else is a stranger fish. Dig lug at Southerness itself with a garden fork. A wee bit hard to dig just now for some reason, only getting approx one per dig if lucky, but they are the top bait for the area. I would suggest you go to the low water mark at low tide, to the right of the lighthouse, and fish for the first two hours of the flood, or go round to Gillfoot bay and fish near the targets ( a big rock formation with some old metal poles still showing) watch your back and do not let the tide surround you. For the last two hours of the flood and first of the ebb, go a couple of miles to Powillimount. ( bumpy car park ) There is a long rock formation with very comfortable stances where the usual species can be caught. All very clean bottom although you will require grip weights, as weed will gather on your line and terminal tackle on most occasions.