World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello to you all

I've just joined the forum having lurked around it for a couple of weeks and have found loads of interesting and useful information.

I've heard it said that Sovereign Harbour beach at Eastbourne should start producing plaice in the very near future. Does anyone have any knowledge on baits weather conditions tide size etc to fish this venue? Or come to think of it any venue where plaice might be caught ? I'm based in East Sussex but normally gravitate towards Dungeness for my fishing so am a total novice for the beaches in the sussex area, er except Pett Level but that's it.

Thanks in advance.

Yam

·
The people's moral compass
12,847 Posts
hi Yam, welcome to the site,

most of my fishing is conducted in and around pevensey bay, or occasionally the pier, I don't fish 'langley point' as the beaches to the west of the harbour are known enough, to be able to pass advice that will be much use to you, RoyS on the forums here does though, or certainly used to ! he may well be able to give you some good pointers,

as for the bay, not too many plaice showing yet. mainly lugworm for bottom baits, rag can produce too, but seemingly not as well as the local lug,

bigger squid and macky baits for bass, crab or big squid for smoothound in the summer, razor when rough, slipper limpets mostly anytime and any species,

eastbourne (certainly east of the wishtower) thru to bexhill is pretty much clean sandy bottom, so standard 5oz grippers and clipdowns for distance, or rolling leads for closer in (depending on tide and weather of course).

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Cheers for that Crazyplums