World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I wonder if anyone could help me please. I have bought myself a rod and a reel for spinning, i have never been spinning for fish before so have no idea what line i should use and if i need a leader aswell. could someone please tell me what line i should use being a total beginner to spinning.

I would also like some recommendations of lures and spinners aswell please. i have an abu toby, a dexter wedge, and an abu floating tormentor. are there any others i should have on my list

cheers

steve

·
Registered
1,683 Posts
Hi mate, in general you don't need a leader for spinning. The line to use could be anything between 8-20lb, personally I've mostly got 15lb on my light spinning outfit. Those lures should do you at the moment untill you've tried it a few times, the only ohers I would add would be a rapala of some sort and a popper (just in case you decide to do a bit of bass fishing) but what you have atm will be fine you don't need to overcomplicate things with loads of different lures.

For most kinds of lure bashing cast out, count down to a depth and vary the retrieve on the way back with stops, jerks, splutters etc untill you find how the fish want to take it. Cover the ground in front of you in an arc with a few casts and vary the depth of the lure in the water column to cover as much as possible and then move down 10 yards or so and repeat. Don't stand in the same place all day casting to the same spot. Hopefully thats the basics.....

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
cheers mate. i appreciate the advice. I was thinking around the 12-15lbs mark for my line. but i wanted to be told by someone else so that i was sure of it.

steve

·
Registered
46 Posts