World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have just acquired a shimano beastmaster lure rod 20-50g. I need a bit of info on what reel to purchase for it. I don't want to spend hundreds on a reel as I am just a beginner, but I would like a reel that will last more than one season. Also I have some savagear sand eels 42g to use, how are these best fished? Can i fish from the shore without rocks nearby etc, with or without a surf or just around rocky areas. Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
202 Posts
Scotty , reels are expendable as they generally don't last , even some of the more expensive ones don't really last in a salt environment ! Look at a reel that costs no more than £100 and consider it a throwaway after a year maybe two ! Spend more and maybe 3 years ! Have it serviced and get a bit longer out of it and add that to the initial cost , your on a hiding to nothing whatever !
Savage gear sandeels can be used from many different locations depending on depth and the kind of sea bed you are fishing over . If it's rough you might end up losing a few , if it's your only choice of
lure then you are blxcexd , you will need to buy a few hundred more lures to cover every conceiable situation and then consign the ones that don't work for you to the box of doom !

·
Registered
3,164 Posts
Reels don't have to cost the earth, something like a daiwa ninja for £50 will do you well, I've had one, cant fault it, I now use a shimano nasci that's about £85 and it's awesome

·
Registered
3,549 Posts
I have both ninjas for freshwater and nasci for a sea travel set up
The nasci has poor line lay but is salt proof , the ninja excellent line lay but not salt proof , if you dont dunk the ninja and keep the bail roller maintained(regular good medium oil) it will be a better reel , especially the LT2018 or later ( imo ).