World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
629 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A brisk north westerly and a hernia diagnosis put me off chucking 6 oz weights off Hythe beach so debated going to Samphire or St.Margarets. I reckoned the latter would be more sheltered and I wasn't wrong. A stunning day there and I regretted wearing me thermals. I set up 90 minutes before high on the beach in front of the furthest white house but after 10 minutes got a bit nervy about how high the water was going to reach. I noticed the water was getting very close to the steps leading off the beach with still over an hour to go to high tide so decided to move onto the prom by the far end of the car park. Plenty of fish there - nothing outstanding but the final tally was 7 whiting, 2 rockling and 1 each of pouting and dog fish. All in all a very enjoyable session.
So, where does the stupidity come in? Well after fishing for 2 and a half years, I am not experienced but have learnt a lot, not least from WSF contributors. I enjoy the challenge of fishing rough ground marks and am fairly confident doing it. I usually use a couple of cheap Rovex Varona reels loaded with 30 lb straight through and rotten bottoms. I used this set up on one rod today and lost no gear at all. But.....for some bizarre unknown reason I used a conventional set up of 20lb plus shock leader on the other rod ....and....the last cast was on that rod, after it had got dark, and with my last 3 lug. The rod gave a huge pull down after a couple of minutes. I wound down and could feel something sizeable on the end, trying to pull the rod out of my hands. I struck......and snagged! I tried for 10 minutes to free it, all the time feeling the fish moving around. Eventually the inevitable happened and the leader knot gave way. I was gutted, the one snag of the whole session and it has to happen when something decent has been hooked. Well I won't make the same mistake again. Back to spark plugs and weak lin