World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I am new to sea fishing, I haven't cast a rod yet :D. I have been trying to get the tackle needed for my first trip and came across an article on tapered shockleaders.

Are they any good? or are they another product put out to catch the angler.

I can see the logic having a smaller knot at the mainline to shockleader connection but is it needed when a 5oz lead is whizzing through the rings. I use them in flyfishing because of the delicate nature of the casting and wouldn't be without them in my flybox.

Thanks
Ian

·
Registered
1,178 Posts
I use them all the time. I always found it difficult to get a really neat shockleader knot before I tried them ( about 6 or 7 years back ), and occasionally cut my thumb and / or forearm to pieces. Diddly little shock knots have made that a thing of the past, plus it's easier to knot two lines of similar diameter when you're sitting on a freezing beach in a howling gale and have just had to pull for a break.

They don't help much with weed on the line - it still gets stuck on the leader knot - but they do help me put some oomph into a cast without worrying about collateral damage.

They're not cheap, but they suit me.

·
Registered
845 Posts
I only use taped for my fixed reels but on my multi's i use normal leaders as there's less contact on the reel to get caught on and prefer the same strength all the way though.

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I use them all the time. I always found it difficult to get a really neat shockleader knot before I tried them ( about 6 or 7 years back ), and occasionally cut my thumb and / or forearm to pieces. Diddly little shock knots have made that a thing of the past, plus it's easier to knot two lines of similar diameter when you're sitting on a freezing beach in a howling gale and have just had to pull for a break.