World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
689 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I have a budget of around £400 (2 rod setup) to spend on changing over from fixed spool to multipliers, I have been looking around on the net and reading some previous posts on here and I am thinking of going for the tfg delta 14ft coupled with the akios 651csm or akois S-Line 656CTM.

I have only ever used multipliers a few times on boat trips and I have an abu7000 with line lay system which I use occassionally, I am better going for the 656ctm without line lay on it or should a complete novice like me stick to having the 651csm with it. advise gladly accepted,.

As for the rod it seems to be quite well thought of for the price but if anyone knows of something better around the same price I would appreciate there input

I mainly fish over clean ground and some roughish ground.

Many thanks guys

·
Registered
845 Posts
I've got 2 TFG delta's and a TFG Force 8 and can highly rate them. You won't get better rods for the price in my view. My other rods stay in the cupboard since i bought the Delta's. For reels have a look a the TFG reels as well they are just re badged Akios but with upgraded spindles. I would buy without a line lay. this only restricts the distance you can cast and also may catch the leader knot. It doesn't take long to learn how to lay your line on the spool. You may be able to get a discount combo deal with Fishtec/TFG.

·
Registered
1,835 Posts
Of the reels you mention one is for lefties. Anything with a 1 in the end of it is usually for left handed folk. If you're an ordinary right handed bloke then the 656ctm or tfg equivalent will be the way to go. Lovely reels :) like selseybilly says you might be able to work them for a reasonable discount if you're spending 400 bucks.

G

·