World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4,327 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Probably a daft question but I'm new to this malarky and still have a very great deal to learn.

I often see advice suggesting it's best to fish a particular venue on tides above a certain height, usually quoted in feet and usually in the range 25-30 feet. Trouble is, when I go onto the Admiralty "easytide" tide prediction website it quotes tide heights as "x" metres above the chart datum. I can convert metric to imperial and vice versa, but where do you find out what the chart datum is?

Thx in advance.

·
Registered
1,091 Posts
Google ..Tide Datum , and it gives an explanation of what its based on . However , its not a constant around the country , depends on a lot of local factors ..! Basically , its the difference in height between the lowest of height , and the highest , at any one point , on the coastline . Read it yrself , and you will still be confused !!!

·
Registered
980 Posts
hi wobbler72
make life easy for yourself when you go to your local tackle shop or one in north wales buy lavers liverpool and irish sea tide table under £2.oo its the best bit of fishing kit you can buy, everything you nead to know is in this pocket size book,because low water and the height of low water is just as important, give in feet and metres

·
Registered
4,327 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thx for the replies.

I understand what "chart datum" is, just couldn't find anywhere where it says in plain English what the chart datum is in feet and inches (or metres) at any given location.

Menai 1 - looks like £2 solves my problem (thx), just surprised the info isn't readily available on the net.

Cheers

·
Registered
2,506 Posts