World Sea Fishing Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,737 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking for something that would fit the bill - a couple of guys I know dont bother with tip lights any more

they have both built attachments they have fitted to their tripods which direct a torch beam on both rods - job

done - I am not technically gifted and was wondering if there was anything out there on the market?

Any thoughts

·
Registered
2,206 Posts
Have seen them fitted with bike tyre inner tube on a Ian golds match tripod,they where square lights like on a bicycle and placed on the main triangle leg

G

·

·
Registered
15,297 Posts
I have tried the torch on tripod, and tbh didnt rate it, I found that the beam shon up and along the rod, and not from the side and accordingly did not illuminate it very well at all.
I then tried fitting a bar across the tripod and mounting the torch on the end, a bit better, but still not much good.
I then made the cross bar stick out about a foot to one side of the tripod, and put the torch on the end, it was almost ok there, but I found that I just could not be bothered with it,it was always in the way, so now when I am not using my Coleman, I just use glow sticks taped on the tip,cheaper than paying for batteries, and less fuss than having to recharge batteries, and weighs less than another torch.
Anyway, with reflective tape on the tip, if you are wearing a headlamp it is automatically lit everytime you look at the rod tip,headlamp off, the glowstick works as well, why light up something that you are not looking
at ?

Just my take on it, whatever suits you though.

Dave

·
Registered
404 Posts