World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a novice to seafishing, although I have dabbled in freshwater fishing. I am going to Cyprus in the future and would appreciate some advice on what type of travel kit I should take with me for a spot of opportunistic fishing from the shore, rocks, or pier. (The weather forecast is poor over there, which is a crying shame for my wife, but I will have to make the most of it I suppose).
I have seen some advice saying a 10ft travel spinning rod, with a fixed spool reel loaded with 12lb bs line, plus a spare spool loaded with a 6lb ls line. Is a travel rod the same as a teloscopic rod? Similar advice of tackle would also help.

I am not sure of any particular manufacturers?
Obviously I will need to travel light, so any leads would be appreciated.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thats the quickest reply I ever recieved on any forum. I will have a read and check it out.
Thanks.

·
Registered
325 Posts
Kevan,

There are two other threads on this subject in "Tackle Questions", one on page 1 under the heading telescopic Rods, and the other on page 4 under the heading"Travel Rods".

There is also write in the Shimano telescopic in Sea Angler May edition.

Fred

·
Registered
438 Posts
the shamano exage carp rod the best all round travel rod you can have comes in a hard tube and will fit in a case bottom fishing spinning or float it will do it all

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Just to complete this thread, thanks to you all ,for your advice & suggestions. Have opted for the shimano exage spinning rod, with 4000 reel. Awaiting delivery now.

See how I get on. At least if the fish dont bite I`ll have a toy to play with while the light of my life frizzles away on the beech.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Lewisteh,