World Sea Fishing Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I am coming over from Newcastle for a week in the lakes for the August bank holiday week (It's actually 1st september to the 5th) and we are staying just outside of Ulverston. I've done a little bit of searching and have seen there is a tackle shop that sells bait in the town, Rods and Sods. First can I check this shop is still open?

Second, I have been reading up on where to try and have a fish. I read about a place called Kingfisher which is reasonably close. I'm after a bass really but anything will do. Any tips for bait, rigs, tide and conditions to look out for? Also is there anywhere I can find a tide table for this area? Is their anywhere to lure fish around here?

Will only probably get one evening of fishing as will be with our lass so want to make the most of it. Will possibly be taking along a complete novice so if possible some clean-ish ground would be good.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
2,580 Posts
yes mate Rods n Sods is still open , Alan the proprieter will have a tide table book and be able to direct you to the local beaches :thumbs:

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks mate. What sort of ground is it around there?

I need to know if I'll be ok with my light 10' Bass rod or will I need my 14' beach caster to deal with distance casting and rough ground. I would have thought it's fishing close in over sandy ground but if someone could say for definate it will help keeping the amount of gear I chuck in the car down.

·
The Bait Guy
304 Posts
there's not much rough ground in ulverston(in fact i dont think there's any) so your bass rod should be fine if your thinkin of fishing priory point but u may need a heavier weight to hold in the tide

·
Team Cumbria Captain
749 Posts